Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Majka Smashes Breakaway, GC Status Quo

Get access to everything we publish when you sign up for Outside+.

July 15, 2015 – Poland’s Rafal Majka, last year’s king of the mountains, won the 188km 11th stage of the Tour de France after a solo breakaway in the Pyrenees on Wednesday. Ireland’s Dan Martin came home second a minute later with German champion Emmanuel Buchmann in third at 1min 23sec. Briton Chris Froome finished ninth in a 10-man group just over five minutes back to maintain the race leader’s yellow jersey.

AFP/James Startt

American Tejay Van Garderen kept hold of second spot at 2min 52sec with Nairo Quintana third at 3min 09sec. It was Majka’s third Tour stage win after a pair of successes in the mountains last year as he won the polkadot jersey for the race’s best climber.

He was part of an eight-man breakaway earlier in the day but attacked his companions on the hors category Col du Tourmalet climb with 50km to ride and never looked back. Martin, who was not part of the initial seven-man breakaway but made up almost four minutes on his own to join the others, was initially dropped on the Tourmalet but came back strongly to overhaul Serge Pauwels for second spot.


Belgian Pauwels cracked completely on the short third category climb just before the finish and was also overtaken by Buchmann. After Froome’s decimation of his rivals on Tuesday it was a much calmer day in the saddle for the overall contenders, until a frantic last climb of the 6.4km third category climb on the way into the finish in Cauterets.

An acceleration by Bauke Mollema saw reigning champion Vincenzo Nibali dropped from the yellow jersey group and the Italian, who suffered badly on Tuesday, lost almost a minute to drop out of the top 10, replaced by Mollema.

French hopes suffered another miserable day as Jean-Christophe Peraud and Thibaut Pinot — second and third overall last year — were again distanced on the lower slopes of the day’s toughest climb.

Final kilometer of Stage 11

Results Stage 11:
1. Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo 5:02:01
2. Daniel Martin (Irl) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team 0:01:00
3. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Argon 18 0:01:23
4. Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN – Qhubeka 0:02:08
5. Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar 0:03:34
6. Julien Simon (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
7. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing 0:05:11
8. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:05:19
9. Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky 0:05:21
10. Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo

General Classification:
1. Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky 41:03:31
2. Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:02:52
3. Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:03:09
4. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:03:59
5. Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 0:04:03
6. Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:04:04
7. Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal 0:04:33
8. Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo 0:04:35
9. Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin 0:06:44
10. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing 0:07:05