Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Tinkoff SAXO Works, Sagan Wins

Get access to everything we publish when you sign up for Outside+.

June 15, 2015 – Despite numerous attacks on the final kilometers, Monday’s stage of Tour de Suisse ended in a sprint within a reduced group. Peter Sagan proved to be the fastest man up front when he out sprinted Daniel Moreno and Thibaut Pinot.

Tour de Suisse

Today’s stage began with a difficult climb with the riders having to ride the Gotthard-Pass (2093 meters above sea level) right from the beginning of the day. Stefan Denifl (IAM Cycling) and Marco Marcato (Wanty – Groupe Gobert) were the first riders to get away. Branislau Samoilau (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) then decided that he wanted to join the action. The Belarusian went solo to bridge the gap, which he managed to do on the first part of the following descent.


The front trio worked well together and quickly established a solid gap to the pack. With 40 km to go, the peloton was still more than six minutes behind the break. None of the three riders was a real threat to Tom Domoulin’s overall lead. Therefore, Giant-Alpecin didn’t seem to be in a hurry to chase them back. Tinkoff-Saxo, however, had other plans. With Peter Sagan as one of the top favorites for the stage, the Russian team hit the front and set a furious pace.


As the break started on the penultimate climb of the day – with less than 20 km to go – the gap was down to under two minutes due to Tinkoff-Saxo’s hard work. Marcato lost contact with Denifl and Samoilau and he was caught by the peloton soon after. The GC riders kept quiet but on the top of the climb, the leading duo had a gap of just 33 seconds.

After the technical descent, it didn’t take long before the two riders at the front were caught by a select group of riders led by home favorite Michael Albasini (Orica GreenEdge) and overall favorite Jakob Fuglsang (Astana). Albasini then attacked with 8.6 km to go. Only Jan Bakelants (Ag2r) proved capable of following the strong Swiss rider. A few kilometers later, Sergio Henao (Team Sky) went clear and neutralized the breakaway. Numerous attacks animated the following kilometers but at the end, it all came down to a sprint.


Daniel Moreno (Katusha) started his sprint early but Sagan didn’t let him get away. The Slovakian seemed to have everything under control and he had no problems overtaking Moreno before the line. Behind the two riders, Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) fought off Julian Arredondo (Trek) to take third place on the stage. Today’s win is Sagan’s 10th stage win in Tour de Suisse history.

Tom Dumoulin finished 5th on the stage and thereby kept the yellow jersey. Dani Moreno (2nd) and Peter Sagan (3rd) are both just five seconds behind the Dutchman in the general classification.

Watch the final k’s here…

1. Peter Sagan (SVK/TCS) 3hr 00min 35sec
2. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) sametime
3. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) s.t.
4. Julian Arredondo (COL/TFR) s.t.
5.Tom Dumoulin (NED/TGA) s.t.
6. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) s.t.
7. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) s.t.
8. Esteban Chaves Rubio (COL/OGE) s.t.
9. Sergio Henao Montoya (COL/SKY) s.t.
10. Joaquin Rojas Gil (ESP/MOV) s.t.

1. Tom Dumoulin (NED/TGA) 6hr 43min 12sec
2. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) at 5sec
3. Peter Sagan SVK/TCS) s.t.
4. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 7
5. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 12
6. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 14
7. Steve Morabito (SUI/FDJ) 15
8. Kristijan Durasek (CRO/LAM) l8
9. Bob Jungels (LUX/TFR) 19
10. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) s.t.